Winter Project, Version 2

Here we discuss projects and post pictures of projects

Moderator: Fawteen

Fawteen

Winter Project, Version 2

Postby Fawteen » Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:02 pm

Okay, my first pass at a winter project (the John Deere 455) petered out after a couple of days. Fixed it enough to use it, he paid for it and took it home.

Soooooo, another motorcycle. I've been cruising Craigslist for a couple of years looking for the right deal on a 2 stroke street bike from the 70's. As is so often the case, everything I saw was too ragged out, too far away or too expensive. Often, all three...

Found this '74 Suzuki GT550 Triple down near Freeport, which is still a 2-1/2 hour ride, but way closer than anything else. Price and condition seemed reasonable, so I took a chance, hooked up the trailer and drove down to check it out.

Wasn't able to negotiate at all on the price, but did hear it start and run briefly, so I forked over the Benjamins and trailered it home Saturday night.

Spent the day in the garage today tearing it down to a rolling chassis. There were a few surprises, but nothing that can't be reasonably replaced or repaired.

Biggest thing, which I knew going in, was that some dishpit with a pair of dykes and a roll of cheap tape had had his way with the wiring harness. Dear God...every stupid thing that can be done to a wiring harness was done to that poor bike.

Wirenuts on splices. Bare wire twisted together and taped. Bare wire twisted together and NOT taped. About 3 feet of #14 extension cord spliced in in one spot. Wires stripped back and wedged into a bullet connector with another wire. I'll be days, if not weeks fixing the harness. New/used/repros are roughly as common as hen's teeth apparently.

The fuel system had been bodged together as well.

RTV/Silicone everywhere instead of proper gaskets and hose sizes.